My Favorites of 2014

 

Untitled #6

Now that 2014 has come to an end, I felt it was time to “brag” on the products and items that I used the most this year. Everyone has their go-to items that they can’t live without and these products definitely keep me happy and using them throughout the year. Without further ado let’s get into this fashionistas!

 

My 2014 Most Used Makeup

First up is my most used makeup products!
Lip: Rimmel’s Lasting Finish By Kate Lipstick in #11. This red is the perfect one for my skin tone. I love that its rich and mimics the color of wine but isn’t too overpowering. I also love MAC’s lipstick in the color “Taupe” for days when I don’t want to be so vavavoom with the red lip.
Foundation: Revlon’s Colorstay 24Hrs in #370 Toast. For years I had been looking for the perfect shade for my skin, since I am multiracial I tend to have a hard time finding a shade that matches JUST RIGHT! Either it’s too pale or it’s too dark… I had been using Benefit Cosmetics Hello Flawless Oxygen WOW in “All The Rage” Beige, but it was coming up too pale and making it quite obvious it wasn’t a match. THANK GOD!!!!!!!!!! for Revlon’s Colorstay, not only does it go on flawless but it’s the perfect shade for me also at a fraction of the cost on high-end foundations!
Cheeks: Julep’s GLOW Pore-Minimizing Blush in the color “Peach Bellini”. When I received this in my Julep subscription box I was a little put off since I signed up for nail polish and not makeup… But after some hesitation I finally tried it out and I feel absolutely head over heels in love with it! This is the perfect blush choice for any season! It’s a beautiful mix of peach colored pink with gold flecks and orange shimmer to give you a blissful glow.
Eyes:SmashBox has been one of my favorites for a while and when I found the Photo Op Eye Shadow Palette Softbox II, I knew it was the palette for me with its multitude of nudes and skin-toned colors. In the palette is also an amazing 2-sided blush for application of the shadows that applies the right amount. The amazing shades that come in this palette include: (L to R) Russet, Truffle, Bare, Juniper, Sandstorm, & Sumatra. While this palette is no longer available on Smashbox’s website there are various stores still selling it.

Eyes: Physician’s Formula “Oh La La Sexy Eyes Trio” in Black, this amazing trio has all the things you would need for the perfect cat eye or to just add dramatic definition to your eyes. In the trio is a felt-tip liner, kohl kajal liner, and a regular eyeliner. I love the quality of this lines eyeliner, the colors come out bold and I barely every have to trace over to get it right. The kohl liner is like butter, it glides over the lid however, my only issue with it is sometimes it can smudge easily so beware of that.

600px;margin:0 auto">

My 2014 Most Used Hair/Skin Products


Now on to my beauty and hair favorites or in my opinions my ESSENTIALS!

Moisturizer: I have been using H20+ Marine Daily Hydrator for well over a year and at first I wasn’t digging it at all because of the smell. It has this kind of aqua swimming pool scent to it and I hated it… BUT… the results from this oil-free moisturizer were amazing and I eventually got over the scent. My main concern areas were my T-zone and how dry they would get before applying my makeup so I started using this and found that it really cleared up my dry skin issue! So if you are like me and have dry skin on your face check their products out, you will love the results, but probably not the smell lol.

Cleanser: Mary Kay’s ClearProof Clarifying Cleanser Gel, while MK’s makeup doesn’t do the job for me their skin care is pretty spot on for treating all types of skin ailments. For the longest I was using Proactiv but once I would stop using it my issues came back which is acne along my chin and sometimes on my cheek, once I started using this I noticed that I didn’t have to use it as often and only when I needed it which was a definite plus.

Makeup Remover: Which happens to also be a Mary Kay product, it’s their Oil-Free Makeup Remover. It’s $15 but it does it’s job well and a little goes a long way, this 3.75 fl. oz. bottle has lasted me into the new year! It’s gentle on my eyes and skin, removes ANY MAKEUP and doesn’t leave my skin oily leading to more breakouts. Looking for a makeup remover? Check theirs out!

Cleansing Brush: Conair Power Facial Cleanser… BOMB PRODUCT!!! I bought Christmas 2013 which some Kohl cash that I had received for Christmas shopping… (Score, gift for them, gift for me lol) I was apprehensive about buying a higher end one and not liking it so I decided to get this one for free and I am so glad I did. It comes with multiple settings to cleanse your face and it cleanses to perfect also stripping any dead skin cells and dirt off your face. I use this brush in conjunction with my MK cleanser either in or out the shower. Best acne prevention regime for me!

Hair: OGX Extra Strength Moroccan Argan Oil Penetrating Hair Oil <- Mouthful of words lol but amazing product. Surprisingly it’s the only product I use on my hair (besides shampoo and condition which happen to be the same brand and Moroccan Argan Oil as well) it does wonders when straightening my hair and giving it an amazing shine plus protects my hair from the heat and breakage, also when I curl my hair it gives me beautiful bouncy curls. This product is literally magic in a bottle.

Last but not least, I thought I should generalize this last favorites into my MOST USED ITEMS OF 2014… These items I couldn’t live without!

600px;margin:0 auto">

2014 Most Used Items


Bag: Tory Burch Thea Crossbody Saddle Bag in porcelain pink. I bought this bag brand new on Tradesy and since then I have used it numerous times! It is a beautiful leather bag (super easy to clean) with tons of space inside and pockets on the back as well as under the flap. The color is what initially caught my eye, such a pale and girly pink… HAD. TO. HAVE. IT.

Necklace: Ariella Collection ‘Messages – J’Adore’ Script Pendant Necklace, mines however does not have the diamond accent and it’s in a pewter color. I am absolutely in love all things french so when I saw this necklace it was calling my name. I had to have it. Nordstrom’s Rack has some pretty amazing deals and items, I knew if I didn’t snatch it up when I did it probably wouldn’t be there the next time. I have worn it just about everyday other than the days I wear statement pieces. It’s so dainty and gorgeous. LOVE IT.

Sunglasses: Cole Haan aviator style shades, I believe I posted a picture with these on, on my blog lol. They were definitely my go to shades in 2014! They have such attitude and are prefect for sunny days in SoCal. Side-note: The other day I picked up a pair of Oscar de la Renta sunglasses that are to die for so those might be my January favorites for sure if not my 2015 favs.

Ring: The infamous Kate Spade bow ring! I think everyone and their mother ran out to get this dainty lil’ beauty! Because my wedding ring is white gold with white and blue diamonds on days that I am wearing gold jewelry I just pop my bow ring on, I am so weird about jewelry clashing… Now if I am wearing silver AND gold then I keep my ring on and rock other accessories but if it’s an all gold affair then I swap. Kate Spade’s items are always so fun and bubbly and in my opinion quite affordable.

Cellphone: My iPhone 5 in Space Gray has been my saving grace this past year with keeping up with appointments, staying in touch, and also checking in on all things social. I love apple products and I cannot wait until May for my upgrade, seriously debating the 6 or if I want to go big and get the 6 plus.

So there we have it, all of these items have been my go to’s for this year. What are some items that you used religiously this year? Got any amazing products that I should check out as an alternate to the ones I am using now? Please feel free to leave them in the comments or email me! I love finding new things to try to incorporate into my daily beauty regimes!

I hope you all had an amazing Christmas and New Years and that 2015 brings you nothing but health, love, and prosperity among other fabulous things! I hope to continue to inspire and entertain through my blog! Here is to another year! XOX Until next time… Stay fab!

2 thoughts on “My Favorites of 2014

  1. dreamspirations says:

    That was such a great post!
    I myself am using the Revlon Colorstay Foundation, and im so in love with it, i dont think im switching my foundation anytime soon! Also, that saddle bag looks absolutely gorgeous *_*
    Much love x

    • Toni says:

      Revlon is definitely making strides in the right direction with their makeup! I also started using Dior’s airbrush makeup which has a much heftier pricetag so I am so glad I found Colorstay first! Thank you so much for the love on this post!! XOX

Leave a Reply

