The Truth About Mental Illness

Caution: I always post about optimistic and positivity. This post however is a little different. Bear with me please. 

 

So with all that’s been going on in my out of control, constantly busy life, it’s lead me to be in kind of a rut. With the current spotlight on the late great Robin Williams and his mental illness, I thought that I would share a little about myself and my illness that I’ve had for the last 10 going on 11 years. 

People look at mental illness as some kind of evilness that people “choose” to have. That’s not the case. Sometimes you are just born with it or something in your life triggers it. I happen to be one who was born with it AND something traumatic triggered it. 

When I was 18 years old, randomly one night I started to panic and freak out. This lead me to call a dear friend (who sadly I am no longer friends with… Long story, different day), when I called her I told her something was wrong with me and that I couldn’t explain it at all. Weeks and months went by then one night I finally made the call to get help…. That was the day things came to light…. That was the day that I faced my demons…. That was the day I took anxiety and depression by the horns and took control of my life and my illness. 

I won’t tell you that with medication and therapy that you will instantly be healed. I won’t tell you that you can just ignore it. What I will tell you though, is that you CAN live with it. You can make the most of life and you can still ENJOY life. 

There are times when I seriously sleep my life away and I couldn’t even pinpoint the reasons why I was sad or upset. I have been on countless medications and talked to numerous professionals getting to the “root of the problem”.

Here I am at 28, still no “cure” but I am strong willed and I refuse to let it become who I am. It is a part of me; That I fully understand. I have chosen to get my education and raise my kids to the best of my ability. I try not to ever let anxiety and depression interrupt their life and happiness. 

 

I guess what I am trying to say is that, mental illnesses are real. They affect people in different ways, sometimes not in ways we would like, but they do. If you know someone who is having a hard time and is falling into depression, talk with them. That’s all we ever need… Someone to talk with us and let us know they care and that we are important and that we can accomplish goals and lead successful lives. Get them the help they need. Everyone deserves a chance at happiness. ❤

XOX B

Leave a Reply

